The Time to Quit is Before You Wish You Had

I went Googling for quotes about quitting today.  I found more than I could ever count.  Most of them warn against quitting:  giving up is easy, quitting scars your soul, quitting lasts forever, makes you lazy, becomes a habit, etc.  That isn’t what I was looking for, though.  I was searching for a quote about quitting that empowers an individual.

You see, I quit today.  Not work.  Not school.  Not motherhood, my marriage, or life.  I quit something that took away from these things.  Something that diminished my happiness and caused me more anxiety than joy.

I quit Facebook.

There are things I will absolutely miss.  I will miss family news, photos, announcements, funny stories and the sort.  I hope people still share these things with me.  Facebook isn’t the only way to keep in touch.

But I won’t miss the wasted hours.  The political rants (I freely admit I am guilty of these as well – I get worked up, I can’t help it!).  The negativity and meanness.  

So the time to quit is now.  

Quitting is not giving up, it’s choosing to focus your attention on something more important. Quitting is not losing confidence, it’s realizing that there are more valuable ways you can spend your time. Quitting is not making excuses, it’s learning to be more productive, efficient and effective instead. Quitting is letting go of things (or people) that are sucking the life out of you so you can do more things that will bring you strength.  –  Osayi Osar-Emokpae

 

4 thoughts on “The Time to Quit is Before You Wish You Had

  1. Good for you. I was using Facebook to update family friends on my husband’s medical condition. I quit when the mean comments got to be too much. The most hurtful was from someone I’ve known since grade school. I don’t know what it is about Facebook that seems to bring out the meanness in people. I’m a firm believer that quitting sometimes becomes necessary when something is no longer working.

    1. I’m so sorry you experienced that. People just don’t know how to filter. Instead of “think before you speak” it should be “think before you press enter”! I hope your husband is doing better now.

  2. Good job, that can be a hard step to take! I don’t see that as a “quit” or “giving up” because both of those words suggest something positive or an opportunity that is missed. Frankly, I think taking a step back from social media shows a willingness to protect yourself from negativity and by taking that step you are also in a better position to field the kind of relationships you have and set better boundaries. Yay!

    1. Thanks Sarah. I am hoping that my blood pressure and anxiety return to a normal (normal being relative) level in the near future. Having a mild panic attack when you look at your news feed just isn’t healthy!

Leave a Reply

